Deakin University (Deakin)

Deakin University (Deakin)

About Deakin University (Deakin)

Institution Title :
Deakin University (Deakin)
Institution Type :
Location :
Victoria  3125
Website :
Total Number of Students :

Deakin University is a public university located in Victoria. Founded in 1974, the university was named after Alfred Deakin, the second Prime Minister of Australia.


Its main campuses are in Melbourne's Burwood suburb, Geelong Waurn Ponds, Geelong Waterfront and Warrnambool. Deakin also has learning centres in Dandenong and Werribee, all in the state of Victoria.


Deakin University is ranked among the top 1% of universities in the world, and is among the top 50 young universities in the world.

Deakin is a global leader ranked in the top 1% in a number of study areas, including Accounting and Finance, Architecture, Business and Management studies, Education, Communication and Media studies, Nursing, Medicine and law. Deakin is also ranked 3rd in the world for sport science and 8th in the world for postgraduate sports management and is among fewer than 5% of Business Schools worldwide with Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) accreditation.

Plus, Deakin students have reported the highest level of overall student satisfaction among universities in the Australian state of Victoria for 10 years in a row.


The University is divided into four faculties;

Arts and Education,

Business and Law,

Health and

Science, Engineering and Built Environment.


Within the Faculty of Arts and Education the three schools cover Education, Social sciences, Humanities, Communication, Creative arts and the Institute of Koorie Education.

The Faculty of Health has the School of Medicine, Nursing and Midwifery, Exercise and Nutrition sciences, Psychology, and Health and Social Development.

The Faculty of Business and Law has the Business School and School of Law.

The Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment encompasses Architecture, Information Technology, Engineering, and Life & Environmental sciences.



Melbourne Burwood Campus

The University's largest campus is in Burwood, about 45 minutes by tram from the Melbourne CBD. The campus has over 30,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students on campus.


Geelong Waterfront Campus

The Geelong Waterfront Campus is Deakin's newest campus, located on Corio Bay, in the central business district of Geelong.

More than 5,000 students are based at the Geelong Waterfront Campus, which hosts the schools of Architecture and Built Environment, Health and Social Development, Psychology, Nursing and Midwifery, and the Faculty of Business and Law.


Waurn Ponds Campus

The original campus of Deakin University is located in the regional city of Geelong in the suburb of Waurn Ponds, 72 kilometres south west of Melbourne. It has a student population of more than 8,000.

The campus is home to the Geelong Technology Precinct, which provides research and development capabilities and opportunities for university/ industry partnerships and new enterprises in the region. The Elite Sports Precinct is used as an alternate training facility by the Geelong Football Club.

The Waurn Ponds Deakin Residence houses 800 students in shared dorms, units, town houses and studio apartments.


Warrnambool Campus

The Warrnambool Campus  is situated on the banks of the Hopkins River in the coastal city of Warrnambool, close to local surf beaches and popular tourist attractions in close proximity to the Great Ocean Road and The Twelve Apostles. The 94-hectare (230-acre) site is approximately 5 kilometres from the Warrnambool CBD, with bus services from Melbourne and Geelong.

The on campus student population is more than 500 studying programs in Arts, Business, Education, Environment, Health sciences, Law, Management, Marine biology, Nursing and Psychology.


Study at Deakin University and discover their world class degrees, excellent graduate outcomes and a university experience you’ll love.


Find a Course
Find a Course