Monash University (Monash)

Monash University (Monash)

About Monash University (Monash)

Institution Title :
Monash University (Monash)
Local Title :
Monash University
Institution Type :
Location :
Victoria  3800
Website :
Total Number of Students :

Monash University is a public university based in Melbourne, Victoria. It was founded in 1958 and is the second oldest university in Victoria. The university has four campuses in Victoria at Clayton, Caulfield, Peninsula, and Parkville.

Monash is a member of Australia's Group of Eight research universities, a member of the ASAIHL, and is the only Australian member of the M8 Alliance of Academic Health Centres, Universities and National Academies. Monash is one of the Australian universities to be ranked in the École des Mines de Paris (Mines Paris Tech) ranking on the basis of the number of alumni listed among CEOs in the 500 largest worldwide companies. Monash is consistently ranked among the world's top 55–70 universities in the QS World University Rankings.

Monash offers comprehensive study options - in undergraduate (including a myriad of double degrees) and postgraduate studies. Monash courses have research and international experiences embedded, and the opportunity to witness, learn and participate in entrepreneurial endeavours and be part of a research discovery or application from undergraduate onwards.


  • #57 in the world, Times Higher Education World University Rankings (2022)
  • #58 in the world, QS World University Rankings (2022)
  • #48 US News and World Report (2021)
  • #66 in the world, QS Graduate Employability Rankings (2020)
  • Undergraduate student retention rate of 94 per cent and 87.4 per cent employer satisfaction with graduates (2019)
  • #2 globally for Pharmacy & Pharmacology, QS World rankings by subject (2021)
  • #15 globally for Education & Training, QS World rankings by subject (2021)
  • #15 globally for Nursing, QS World rankings by subject (2021)


Monash has 10 teaching faculties, these incorporate the university's major departments of teaching and research centres:

Art, Design and Architecture


Business and Economics



Information Technology


Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences



Monash has six campuses in Victoria at the following locations:

Clayton campus

Clayton campus has around 26,000 students and is the largest of all eight campuses. It is located 20km south-east of Melbourne.

Caulfield campus

Caulfield campus is Monash University's second largest campus, nine kilometres south-east of Melbourne.

Peninsula campus

Peninsula campus is Monash University's third largest campus. It is about 40km south of Melbourne and has around 3500 students.

Parkville campus

The Parkville campus has recently undergone a $50 million redevelopment, which includes new world-class research laboratories and teaching space.

Law Chambers

Located in the heart of the Melbourne's legal precinct and within walking distance of the Magistrates, County and Supreme Courts.

271 Collins Street

Specifically designed for Bachelor of International Business students, this centre is located in Melbourne's central business district.

Find a Course
Find a Course